the life of a nanny

just the musings of the life of a nanny

a day in the life of a seven year old March 29, 2011

Filed under: taylor — thelifeofananny @ 10:17 am

just typing that header made me fee a little bit older. yikes.

Last week, was my niece, Taylor’s, Spring Break. I had Friday off, so I offered to hang out with her all day. My brother asked what I had planned, and I told him that I had quite a few errands and then maybe I could take her for a pedicure.

Our first stop, was my parents office. They work at the same place, and they hadn’t seen Taylor is almost a week (that translated into grandparents time is f.o.r.e.v.e.r!). First we surprised my dad, he couldn’t have been happier to see her. He showed us all around his office, all the cardiology machines, x-rays, doctors, nurses, break room, you name it- we saw it. For a seven year old, she was thrilled, taking it all in, holding her Papa’s hand the whole time. It was sweet. Then we rode the elevator up to the 3rd floor, where my mom was and we ambushed her, she was thrilled. Taylor played with all the things in her office, and on the way out she hit up the candy bowl, for not one, not two, but three pieces of candy.

Our next stop was TCC (i needed to drop something off), we took the long scenic route via tennessee street, and Taylor asked a billion questions. We talked all about college- how you can pick when your classes are, and thats why there were a billion people crossing the streets all around FSU. When we got to TCC she couldnt believe how many people there were- i just giggled. Sweet Taylor told me on the way out “I like this school, do you think they will let me come here?” Ohhh sweet Taylor, TCC lets almost everyone come. ha! So innocent.

After TCC, we headed to Mozaik for lunch. Yum! We sat at the bar, Taylor ordered the pork quesadilla, and I had the eggplant gyro. Then Sweet Taylor talked me into ordering dessert. She ordered the chocolate cake and strawberry trifle and I had the espresso creme brulee. Oh me oh my, they were fantastic.

T & her lunch.

T & her dessert.

my yummy dessert.

After our fancy lunch, what did us girls do? We went and got our toes done! Taylor picked out some neon pink shade for her toes, i went with the casual pink beet color. Taylor was most excited about her sprite she got. Oh how to win the heart of a seven year old.

With our toes painted we made a quick stop at M&M monogram, I had to pick some things I had monogrammed for myself (hey, a girl can treat herself, right?!!). Taylor talked me into buying her a $15 headband! Whoa, i know, but she is pretty darn cute!

We were headed home when we decided to stop in at Old Navy, Tay picked out these super cute sandals with a little bow on them. And we picked out a shirt for her little sister Ainsley, after all, we didn’t want to leave her out!

Then we went back to my house, I showed her my garden and she wanted to water it, so I let her. We sat outside and threw Remi pup the tennis ball for awhile, then she wanted to play video games with Caleb. Huh? Sweet Taylor, with her toes painted, new sandals, a $15 headband, and she wanted to play a boys video game?! Thats Taylor for you! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

